Your responsibilities as a yachting professional and how FLYN-YACHTING can help you

As shipowner or captain, you are, globally, responsible for the management of the yacht in port and at sea, and for the general compliance (qualification, training, documentation, and all rules of certification and international navigation). The same applies to the administrative aspects in the fiscal, customs, social, environmental, etc. fields. You can delegate certain responsibilities through a yacht management mandate, regarding the yacht herself but also the commercial operations for charter or passenger transport.

As the shipowner's agent (central agent, charter, stakeholder, tax representative...) or as captain you have permanent or temporary duties and responsibilities, and in particular :

  • day-to-day implementation of multiple tax rules, opportunities for exemption, and transparency obligations
  • customs monitoring of tax-exempt fuels (fuel log book) and year-end report
  • filing of compliant accounting at year-end
  • filing of an international commercial shipping report (70% threshold)
  • presentation of a certificate of VAT exemption (ports, supplies, construction sites...)
  • declarations of entry into territorial waters, of intention to anchor or stop, of pilotage; associated sanitary, port and customs rules

The FLYN-YACHTING suite of products and services can help you lighten your workload by using, in the implementation of these obligations, verified and conclusive documents, demonstrating to administrations your compliance, a priori or a posteriori. All you need to do is integrate the elements into the management of commercial contracts (VAT & TICPE), into annual declarations (70%, fuel), or more simply into the on-board archives. 

How does FLYN-YACHTING work ?

FLYN-YACHTING relies on the position information provided by the AIS of the yacht which is irrefutable data and accepted by the national authorities.

FLYN-YACHTING has a large database of maritime borders, ports, shipyards and anchorages in the Mediterranean, administrative and maritime areas at sub-regional level, and geomatic processing programs developed in-house.

FLYN-YACHTING peut dès lors analyser la situation dynamique d’un yacht (en route / au port / au chantier / au mouillage), la zone où il se trouve (eaux territoriales de tel pays, région, département) et, pour certains pays, la réglementation environnementale et nautique applicable (mouillage interdit ou réglementé).

This analysis over time allows the status to be verified, for example, compliance with the length of time since temporary admission to the EU (18 months), the length of stay of a crew member with regard to their social status (6 months), the time or distance traveled in a commercial operation (calculation of VAT on charter or transport), compliance with anchorage limitations (environmental protection), etc.

For yachts not equipped with AIS, it is recommended to provide a continuous record of GPS navigation and relevant extracts from the navigation log.

The need to associate your business data with the yacht's itinerary

With regard to navigation under contract of carriage, the opportunities for tax exemption are important, and in particular :

  • international shipping routes, if they reach a port in a different country from the country of departure (exempt)
  • passenger transport between Corsica and mainland France (exempt)
  • sailing quota in international waters (exempted) and modulation of the VAT rate (Corsica: 2.1% instead of 10%)
  • in addition to the access, to be justified, to a fuel oil free of TICPE and VAT.

The VAT calculation report offered by FLYN-YACHTING deals with these different cases, calculates and justifies the tax status of each travel leg thus determined, up to the final invoice.

For this purpose, the captain, in exchange with FLYN's experts, must specify during the cruise the nature of each stopover, according to whether it is a simple navigation stop at anchor, a transit stopover with local commercial exchange, or a stopover with passenger embarkation or disembarkation. These elements (and their justifications) will make it possible to justify partial or total tax exemptions.

With regard to charter navigation, the situation is much simpler (departure from France or Italy) from 2021: only the time spent in non-European waters is exempt with regard to the total duration of the charter. The VAT exemption is then limited, but independent of the types of stopovers and passenger movements, which will only change the routes qualifying for the 70% threshold of international commercial navigation.

FLYN-YACHTING's reports analyze and take into account these different situations and provide you with a detailed and conclusive report.

Need for localization & cumulative treatment

The products and services of FLYN-YACHTING follow the variation of regulations with regard to the navigation and stays of the yacht in the visited territories, whose regulations are known.

In addition to the yacht's positions over time, mainly taken from the AIS, FLYN-YACHTING will process international or non-EU (VAT exempt) sailing crossings, calculate elapsed times or distances travelled, determine the beginning and end of events such as change of territorial waters, end of a call, entry into port, anchorage, etc.

The association of these events with the knowledge of the applicable regulations will make it possible to determine situations such as :

  • is the yacht anchored in an authorized area ?
  • has the yacht exceeded the threshold for the duration of stationing time, modifying the temporary import status ? or the social status of the crew ?
  • has the yacht reached 70% international commercial navigation ?

Vos responsabilités comme professionnel du Yachting et comment FLYN-YACHTING peut vous aider

En tant qu’armateur ou que capitaine, vous êtes, globalement, le responsable de la mise en œuvre du yacht au port et en mer, et de la conformité générale (qualification, formation, documentation, et toutes les règles de certification et de navigation internationale). Il en va de même au plan administratif dans les domaines fiscal, douanier, social, environnemental… Vous pouvez déléguer certaines responsabilités à travers un mandat de gestion du yacht, en tant que navire, mais aussi en tant qu’opérateur commercial au charter ou au transport de passagers.

En tant qu’agent mandataire de l’armateur (agent central, charter, stakeholder, représentant fiscal…) ou que capitaine vous avez des devoirs et des responsabilités permanentes ou temporaires, et notamment :

  • mise en œuvre au quotidien de règles fiscales multiples, opportunités d’allègement et obligations de transparence
  • suivi douanier des combustibles détaxés (fuel log book) et rapport de fin d’année
  • dépôt d’une comptabilité conforme en fin d’année
  • dépôt d’un rapport de navigation commerciale internationale (seuil des 70%)
  • présentation d’un certificat d’exonération de TVA (ports, avitaillements, chantiers…)
  • déclarations d’entrée dans les eaux territoriales, d’intention de mouillage ou d’arrêt, de pilotage ; règles sanitaires, portuaires et douanières associées

La suite de produits et services FLYN-YACHTING peut vous aider à alléger votre charge de travail en faisant appel, dans la mise en œuvre de ces obligations, à des documents vérifiés et probants, démontrant aux administrations votre conformité, a priori ou a posteriori. Il suffira d’en intégrer les éléments dans la gestion des contrats commerciaux (TVA & TICPE), dans les déclarations annuelles (70%, fuel), ou plus simplement dans les archives du bord. 

Comment fonctionne FLYN-YACHTING ?

FLYN-YACHTING s’appuie sur les informations de position fournies par l’AIS du yacht qui sont des données irréfutables et acceptées par les autorités nationales.

FLYN-YACHTING dispose d’une large base de données des frontières maritimes, des ports, chantiers et mouillages en Méditerranée, des zones administratives et maritimes à l’échelon subrégional, et de programmes de traitement géomatiques développés en interne.

FLYN-YACHTING peut dès lors analyser la situation dynamique d’un yacht (en route / au port / au chantier / au mouillage), la zone où il se trouve (eaux territoriales de tel pays, région, département) et, pour certains pays, la réglementation environnementale et nautique applicable (mouillage interdit ou réglementé).

Cette analyse dans le temps permet de vérifier le statut, par exemple de respect de la durée depuis l’admission temporaire en UE (18 mois), la durée de séjour d’un membre d’équipage au regard de son statut social (6 mois), les temps ou distances parcourues en opération commerciale (calcul de TVA au Charter ou au Transport), le respect des limitations de mouillage (protection environnementale), etc.

Pour les yachts non équipés de l’AIS, il est recommandé de fournir un relevé continu d’enregistrement de la navigation GPS et les extraits pertinents du journal de navigation.

La nécessité d’associer vos données commerciales à l’itinéraire du yacht

S’agissant de navigation sous contrat de transport, les opportunités d’exonération fiscale sont importantes, et notamment :

  • trajets de navigation internationale, si l’on touche un port d’un pays différent du pays de départ (exonéré)
  • transport de passagers entre la Corse et la France continentale (exonéré)
  • quote-parts navigation dans les eaux internationales (exonérées) et modulation du taux de TVA (Corse : 2,1% au lieu de 10%)
  • outre l’accès, à justifier, à un fuel détaxé de TICPE et de TVA.

Le rapport de calcul de TVA que vous propose FLYN-YACHTING traite ces différents cas, calcule et justifie le statut fiscal de chaque « trajet » ainsi déterminé, jusqu‘au libellé de facturation finale.

Pour cela, le capitaine, en échangeant avec les experts de FLYN, doit préciser en cours de croisière la nature de chaque escale, selon qu’elle est une simple halte de la navigation au mouillage, une escale de transit avec échange commercial local, ou une escale avec embarquement ou débarquement de passager. Ces éléments (et leurs justificatifs) vont permettre de justifier les exonérations fiscales partielles ou totales.

S’agissant de navigation de location (charter) la situation est de fait beaucoup plus simple (départ de France ou d’Italie) à partir de 2021 : seuls les temps passés dans des eaux non-européennes sont exonérés au regard de la durée totale du charter. L’exonération de TVA est alors limitée, mais indépendante des types d’escales et des mouvements de passagers, qui eux, ne modifieront que les trajets qualifiants au seuil de 70% de navigation commerciale internationale.

Les rapports de FLYN-YACHTING analysent et prennent en compte ces différentes situations et vous livrent un rapport détaillé et probant.

Besoin de localisation & de traitements cumulés

Les produits et services de FLYN-YACHTING s’appuient sur la déclinaison de réglementations au regard des navigations et séjours du yacht dans les territoires, dont les réglementations sont connues par ailleurs.

Outre les positions du yacht au fil du temps, tirées principalement de l’AIS, FLYN-YACHTING va traiter les traversées de navigation internationales ou hors UE (exonérées de TVA), calculer les temps écoulés ou distances parcourues, déterminer les débuts et fins d’évènements tels que le changement d’eaux territoriales, la fin d’une escale, l’entrée au port, la prise de mouillage, etc.

L’association de ces événements avec la connaissance de la réglementation applicable permettra de déterminer les situations telles que :

  • le yacht est-il mouillé dans une zone autorisée ?
  • le yacht a-t’ il dépassé le seuil de durée de stationnement modifiant le statut d’importation temporaire ? ou le statut social de l’équipage ?
  • le yacht a-t’ il atteint les 70% de navigation commerciale internationale ?